Monday, 13. February 2006
Meet Evelyn Böhmer-Laufer
Initiator and Coordinator of peacecamp 2006
Vienna, Austria
write to: bohmeratutanet.at
I am Evelyn, I have been living in Israel as well as in Austria and am both, Austrian and Israeli. I was born shortly after World War II and spent many of my childhood years wondering how human beings had let the Holocaust happen, how it was possible that human beings would persecute, discriminate or even murder other people because of their faith, origin or religion. I always wanted to understand what caused wars and how one could prevent them. In spite of the fact that I was not at all gifted in art, I used to participate each year in drawing contests about a "United Europe" and would draw maps of Europe with no borders between the countries.

I saw the iron curtain fall, and I am now witnessing my childhood dream become true: A United Europe.

This confirms my belief that great political changes can occur and that our world can become more peaceful, more tolerant, more friendly and more peaceful.

I have a 16 years old daughter, Lia.
I would very much want her and her generation all over the world to become more open, more friendly and more respectful towards other people, regardless of their origins, religion or believes. I believe that each single person is responsible for shaping our world and can contribute to making the world a home for every person and people.

I believe in the encounter of different groups and people as a way to explore the differences, as well as the similiarities, between nations, people and religions and to discover how complex and rich the world is because of the many different people who live in it.

... comment

 
Nili Gross
Hello

I would have the minimal respect and honor and mention the contribution of Ms Nili Gross from Israel, who, together with Evelyn, established the peace camp.

... link  

 
Thank you
I have been told about this comment by my friend and partner of the project - Otman Chatib.
I would like to thank whoever wrote it (can't recognize the writer).
I have indeed been the initiator of this project with Evelyn a few years ago, and this project is based on my ideas and materials as well as hers.
I also expect credit for this, but I geuss it is not always easy to credit others for what they have done.
Nili Gross

 
Dear Evelyn
As one of the project's participants, I would like to mention again just how much Nili contributed to the camp- not only in her original ideas and workshops, but also in her spirit. Nili was like our mother in these ten days, as well as a proffesional manager and guide. I, in her sake, is deeply offended by you not mentioning her at all in this site, and totally erasing her contribution to the realization of this project.
If it's hard for you to write her name for HER sake, do it for us- the participants who charish and respect her.

 
I wonder about the reaction to Evelyns text, because she introduced herself (as the hungarian participants did before and others will do), not suggesting the peacecamps had been her idea.

By the way, doesn't the headline "Peacecamp 2006" indicate this site is about the forthcoming event, not about the past? Links to texts on previous peacecamps can be found on this site in the topic Previous Peacecamps, so I wouldn't consider Nilis undisputed contribution as omitted.


... comment