Friday, 30. June 2006
15. Jana Boulus's expectations
of
peacecamp 2006
3. the answer of Jana Boulus:
1. What are your expectations of Peacecamp 2006? What should happen
there?

I have high expectations of this peace camp =). I expect to experience
interactions with different opinions and different approaches to the
situation we are dealing with today. We live in a very sensitive area
with
great problems that, indeed, cause a lot of hatred on both sides, and
through camps like these, and different interactions we get to share
our
views and talk about our differences and our long mistaken hate. We
should
come into the camp with open minds and be ready to be both befriended,
and
attacked, and with both of these hopefully reach a level of
understanding
and acceptance.

2. What would you like to "take home" from peacecamp 2006?

I would like to take home a good experience, ofcourse, and a more open
mind.
Being with both Israelis and Palestinians at the same time will
probably
open up a lot of new ways and close up a lot of old flawed ways. And I
would
hope that this camp would do that and much more like: exploring new
cultures
and a different country, explore hidden feelings from the political
disagreement, and the satisfaction that other people were educated
about
your personal political situation and how it might affect them.

3. What will you personally contribute to this encounter?

I contribute an open mind that is willing to give others to speak their
feelings and give them a chance to speak their own mind, be it what
may. I
contribute my respect and understanding; keeping in mind they have
feelings,
just like I do. I will contribute a smile so we all could have more
good
times than bad. And I will contribute my understanding of the situation
and
how it affected me, hoping it would educate and help others realize the
horror we live in and that it should stop.

... comment