Friday, 30. June 2006
14. Bilal Dissi's
expectations of
peacecamp 2006
Dear Ms. / Mr.

Following are my answers to the requested questions, hope that they meet up to your expectations.

In peace,

Bilal Dissi

Answers:

1. What are your expectations of peacecamp 2006? What should happen there?

Generally, I’m expecting a lot of things that would empower my personality and enhance my skills. As travelling abroad this means that I’ll become more self- independent and more able to represent myself in front people different than my society. Additionally, I’ll learn how to better dialogue with regards to my communication skills.

I think that we need to be like one body over there because we are going to be one team so we should help each other as we work together.
However, I think that if we are going to be in large numbers, then better as we are divided into small workshops to mingle us each time. Thus, there would be a chance that all the participants will get to know each other and exchange points of views.





2. What would you like to "take home" from peacecamp 2006?

Meeting new people, different faces and cultures will give me the chance to go back home with new friends that are different than my culture and new ways of thinking as I’ll exchange ideas with the others in the camp.
I’ll for sure take *that sense of team work that will be one effective step in my future life of studying then working.

3. What will you personally contribute to this encounter?

First of all I’ll try to be friends with everyone there and I mean by friends all the spirit that this word holds as (help each other, share all the experience we have and respect the different points of views).
I’ll commit myself to any volunteer work available there during the camp and will try my best to help in making this camp an effective and successful one.
As coming back home, I hope that meetings would continue to further shape what fruits we gained at the camp.

I expect the camp to be extra fun. Well its what you can call “A once in a lifetime opportunity”. In addition in such camps you cant expect to play and laugh all the time so I expect there would be some hard work during those ten days as well as playing, laughing, Getting to know other people, learning about new cultures and learning to accept and hear the “other side’s story”. Which means not only to stick with your opinion, and to be open minded about other opinions. However, what I would like to “take home” with me is the friendship with all the participants and experiences I will have there. As an individual who is trying to contribute to the encounter I know that I will do my best in everything I will be asked to do in order for making this project work.

... comment