Wednesday, 10. May 2006
Meet the Israeli coordinator
URI AMIT
write to amituriAT012.net.il
Uri Amit
Tel: +972 2 5661364
Mobile: +972 547 584127
amituriAT012.net.il
10/b Ha'ári st, Jerusalem, Israel Dear all My name is Uri Amit; I was born in Israel and grew up in kiryat Shmona. A small town, at the very north city in Israel. As a kid, I became familiar with the social and economical problems of Israel as they were reflected in the development city. As a teenager I was an active member in Hashomer Hazair youth movement (a social democrat organization) and as a leader I had the opportunity to join and lead peace camps in different parts in Europe. As a group leader and as a coordinator in Hashomer Hazair I was working with kids and teenagers and had the chance to go through significant processes. I was serving in the Israeli army, first as a fighter and then as part of a team, that was working on a social project that tries to motivate teenagers from development cities and destroyed families to be part of the Israeli society by joining a special unit in the army. After the army, I have started my long romance with education and traveling. I was sent as a representative of the state of Israel to different places around the world to lead and supervise educational projects, took part in different youth seminars worldwide ( in the fields of conflict resolution and mediation ). Meanwhile I had the chance to travel around Asia (china, Mongolia, Tibet, U.S.S.R, Thailand, Nepal etc ) Oceania ( Australian and new Zealand ) America ( both north and south) and Europe. I was swimming with piranhas, climbing the Everest, hiking along volcanoes and try to get the best out what the world has to offer. In between I had the chance to experience some political issues as I was function as the field manager and as the spokesman of "Meretz" party (a left wing, social democrat party) In the last 2 years, I was living and working in Vienna, Austria as a "Shaliach" (assembly) of Hashomer Hazair and representative of the "Jewish agency". Now I am living in Jerusalem, Israel and doing my B.A in anthropology and sociology. During the camp, I will be responsible for the outdoor activities and try to make you all happy by playing the guitar and cook some delicious outdoor receipts. Wish us all a great experience and wait to see you there Yours Uri Amit amituriAT012.net.il Jerusalem israel

... comment